The sound of silence

I must confess, this is one of my favourite tracks. It is instantly and almost universally recognisable and perfect for chilling out to. In my wanderings with my camera, the lyrics prompted several images which I have included below. I’m not quite sure why the whole Simon and Garfunkel Greatest Hits album strikes such a chord with me, I only know that it touches something deep inside.

There is one of their tracks that is missing from the album though, which I have added to my Album playlist. Bright Eyes. Watership Down is the first “proper” book I remember reading and I suspect I’ve read it at least half a dozen times in my childhood. It is a great book which touches on many adult themes such as communism and fascism. The film came out shortly after my first (or possibly second) reading of the book, and the sound track always takes me back to my childhood. For those not familiar with it, or who just want a few moments of nostalgia, here it is on Youtube.

6 thoughts on “The sound of silence

  1. I’m with you on ‘The sound of silence’ and the whole of ‘the graduate’ soundtrack but have to close the lid on ‘bright eyes’. I also agree, picture 2 of the tunnel is great.

  2. leorah has always liked Simon and Garfunkel…. and was always teased a little for being just a bit too young to like them… she does not mind, though… something about their music resonates with her.

    Always,
    leorah_MF

Leave a Reply

